Prissy

Five days a week, 187 days a year I dress and leave the house.  Semi put together, with make-up and jewelry anyway, ready to face adolescents.  I think I’m known for my unique style, one that I suppose has evolved over almost 57 years.  I give my morning routine no more thought than just another way to prepare for the day.

I go native in the summer.  Shorts, tee, flops.  Toilette consists of showering and washing my hair.  Period.

Except.

After being au natural for several days I feel the urge, nay, the compulsion to be me again.  I actually don real clothes, makeup, and jewelry.  And perfume.

The natural look is great most days. The hummingbirds, Harper Lee, and hydrangeas don’t seem to notice that I have on the same pair of khaki shorts I’ve worn three times this week. They all eat and drink what I offer whether I’m wearing eighty-three bracelets or not.

Right now I’m nursing the infirm and the Tabgaze doesn’t register whether I’m all gussied up or wearing burlap.  The lunch I pack for JT still tastes like a turkey, mustard, and cheese sandwich whether I’ve rosied my cheekbones with blush or not.  Facebook friends don’t know when I’m sitting at the computer with a WE tshirt from 1997.

But I don’t do it for other people.  I do it for me. 

Why?  Because I feel more like myself with eyeliner, subtle though it is.  (Ink by Bare Escentuals in case you were wondering.)  And after awhile I need to be reminded that I’m grown now, and grownups are expected to do certain things.

Like get dressed.

About bht826

smart ass soul searcher
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Prissy

  1. KraschN2Me says:

    I hear it takes 28 days to break a habit. I took makeup with me and didn't wear it at all. Go figure.

Leave a comment